Bendigo & District Cycling Club
2024 BDCC Merv Dean Memorial Junior Club Tour

Sat, 8 Jun 2024 - Sun, 9 Jun 2024
See details
Entries open
Entries close
Wed, 05 Jun 2024 5:59 PM AEST
Scratch cut-off
Wed, 05 Jun 2024 5:59 PM AEST
Pay online by
Wed, 05 Jun 2024 5:59 PM AEST


Two day, 3 stage tour – Hill Climb Time Trial and 2 x Road races (Scratch races) and criterium - proudly presented by Bendigo & District Cycling Club.

Merv Dean was a member of the Bendigo and District Cycling Club for 50 years. He was successful in both track and road cycling. He was highly regarded for his achievements in the Wangaratta Wheel and Road Races and in the Midlands Road Race. After retiring, Merv stayed very involved in in the club, serving as Secretary for 14 years and being a Club and State Commissaire. He was awarded a Life Membership of the Bendigo and District Cycling Club and VCI.

Merv was passionate about junior cycling. He along with other officials from Bendigo, formulated and introduced a training program to educate and develop junior cyclists. This was accepted by the ACF and is what we now know as the J Cycle Program.

Merv’s wife, Ruth is honoured to have this Club Tour named in memory of Merv as he enjoyed planning this tour and the courses to make them challenging. He won the Senior tour in 1966. Thank you to Ruth and Dean family for supporting this weekend.


*Day 1- Saturday 8th June- Stage One starting at North Harcourt Rd and Harcourt-Sutton Grange Rd (Grades from U13 to U17)
*Day 1- Stage Two: Road race at North Harcourt Tennis Club. U13-12km U15-35km U17- 47Km
*Day 2- Sunday 9th June -Stage Three: Road race at Mandurang 9am– U13: 19.3km – U15: 30km – U17: 40km

Course maps

*[Stage 1
*[Stage 2
*Stage 3 U13 Map, U17 Map x 2 laps
*[Stage 3 - Strava Link

Entry information

Entry fee: U13-U17 $50 + payment card fee – Three Stages No on the day entries
General Classification will be decided by a points based system. In the event that two riders finish on the same points the rider who finished higher in the time trial will be the winner.
Registration 8.30am - 8.45am - Harcourt North Tennis Club.
Start Time - First Rider 9.15am

Eligibility: An AusCycling Race membership is required

No on the day entries.

Volunteers - Click Link to sign up to Volunteer


Paul Hadden 0402776877 Shane Freer 0417315852

Entry prices

Online pricing:

Regular entry

A payment card fee of $0.30 will be applied.

Actions available