Bendigo & District Cycling Club
2023 BDCC Merv Dean Memorial Senior Club 3 Day Tour Sponsored by Profound Civil Contractors

Sat, 10 Jun 2023 - Mon, 12 Jun 2023
Entries open
Thu, 06 Jul 2023 5:59 PM AEST
Entries close
Wed, 07 Jun 2023 6:00 PM AEST
Pay online by
Wed, 07 Jun 2023 6:00 PM AEST

2023 BDCC Merv Dean Memorial Senior Club Tour Sponsored by Profound Civil Contractors

DATE Saturday 10th June – Monday 12th June
Entries close Wednesday 7th June at 6pm
MERV DEAN Merv Dean was a member of the Bendigo and District Cycling Club for 50 years. He was successful in both track and road cycling. He was highly regarded for his achievements in the Wangaratta Wheel and Road Races and in the Midlands Road Race. After retiring, Merv stayed very involved in in the club, serving as Secretary for 14 years and being a Club and State Commissaire. He was awarded a Life Membership of the Bendigo and District Cycling Club and VCI. Merv was passionate about junior cycling. He along with other officials from Bendigo, formulated and introduced a training program to educate and develop junior cyclists. This was accepted by the ACF and is what we now know as the J Cycle Program. Merv’s wife, Ruth is honoured to have this Club Tour named in memory of Merv as he enjoyed planning this tour and the courses to make them challenging. He even won the Senior tour in 1966. Thank you to Ruth and the Dean family for their support.
FORMAT Road races, Hill Climb, Kermesse / A, B, C Grade. Grades will be capped A-50, B-50, C-40
Female GC to race within C Grade race
Note: This is an individual event. No team racing
Bendigo & District Cycling Club members will be prioritised.
Club handicapper will have discretion on grading.
KOM SPONSOR: Innes Subaru Bendigo
RACE SCHEDULE and DETAILS Day One Saturday 10th June • Start & finish at the Chewton Senior Citizens Centre, 201 Main Road Chewton. Vic 3451
12.50 Pm Race Director meeting all grades! Will be a neutral roll out of approx 3km for all grades.
A Grade 1pm.
B Grade 1.10 pm
C Grade 1.15 pm
Finish we be before the railway line bridge on the Vaughan -Chewton Road .
2 Sprints and 2 Hill Climb to A & B Grade. (Giant Bendigo Sprint Competition and Innes Subaru Bendigo Hillclimb Competition)
Day Two Sunday 11th June. • Sunday 11th June.
Start-Harcourt North Hall on McIvor Road
9.20 Am Race Directors meeting with ALL Grades.
9.30 Am A Grade
9.40 Am B Grade
9.50 Am C Grade
Neutral red flag start to the old Calder Freeway (approx. 3km)Finish for ALL grades - Half way up the North side of Mt Alexander on the Joseph Young Drive
2 Hill Climb Competition for A Grade on top of the Turd Burger.
2 Sprint Competition Sprints in Harcourt Township (On Lap 2 & 3)
B & C Grade 1 Hill Climb on top of the Turd Burger
1 Sprint on laps2 in the Harcourt Township
Day Three Monday 12th June Harcourt North Kermesses 12th June information.
1 Lap approximately 11.72Km
Neutral start ALL grade to Old Calder Highway.
9.30 am C Grade 46.88Km 4Laps - 1 Sprint & 1 Hill Climb (Harcourt & start finish line)
10.45 Am B Grade- 58.6km 5 Laps - 2 Sprints & 2 Hill Climbs
12.15 A Grade 70.8km 6 Laps
2 Sprints & 2 Hill Climbs
Race Directors meeting 10 minutes prior each race.
Race Presentations at the Harcourt North Hall after A Grade
To confirm if C Grade presentation is during the B Grade race.
BONUS TIMES Stage winners: 1st 10sec, 2nd 6sec, 3rd 4 sec, 4th 2sec. Sprints and Hill climbs: 1st 5sec, 2nd 3sec, 3rd 1sec
PRIZE MONEY (To confirm) A, B & C Grade Overall. Paying 1st to 6th on General Classification
Women to race in C Grade - with their own GC and prize money within this category.
STAGES Stage winner, 2nd and 3rd Place getter . (And have to make sure you claim)
HILL CLIMB & SPRINT COMPETITION Overall prize money for 1st, 2nd & 3rd overall

The Merv Dean Memorial Club Tour is an Individual event and team racing will come with time penalties and disqualification.

Bendigo District Cycling Club members please nominate a person in the comments to assist, jobs include corners, catering, lead and sag wagons, sprint, KOM, QOM and finish judges.

| Email:
President: Garry Pontelandolfo 0419 311 890
Handicapper: Darren Casey 0409 196 554 |

Course Maps

Stage 1 A & B Grade
C Grade

Stage 2 A Grade
B and C grade-

Stage 3

Entry prices

Online pricing:

Regular entry

A payment card fee of $0.30 will be applied.

Actions available